Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

中銀香港(控股)有限公司 BOC HONG KONG (HOLDINGS) LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (the "Company", Stock Code: 2388)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGES OF MEMBERS OF BOARD COMMITTEES

The Board is pleased to announce that Mr. LEE Sunny Wai Kwong (李惠光先生) has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director, a member of each of Audit Committee, Risk Committee, Strategy and Budget Committee as well as Sustainability Committee of the Company and the Bank with effect from 14 September 2022.

Following regulatory approval, the Board of Directors of the Company (the "**Board**") is pleased to announce that Mr. LEE Sunny Wai Kwong (李惠光先生) has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director, a member of each of Audit Committee, Risk Committee, Strategy and Budget Committee as well as Sustainability Committee of the Company and its principal operating subsidiary, Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited (the "**Bank**") with effect from 14 September 2022.

Mr. LEE Sunny Wai Kwong (李惠光先生), BBS, JP, aged 63, is the Vice President (Administration) of City University of Hong Kong. Mr. LEE has more than 30 years of experience in business and technology management gained in both Hong Kong and overseas. He was Systems Director of the Bank of America in Hong Kong. He has held key Information Technology ("**IT**") positions in the financial, management consulting and manufacturing industries in the United States. Mr. LEE was an Executive Director of IT of The Hong Kong Jockey Club ("HKJC"), where he served as member of board of management and had overall responsibility for HKJC's IT strategy and innovation. Prior to joining HKJC, he served at The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited where he was an executive committee member and held a number of key positions, including the Group's Chief Information Officer and Chief Executive Officer of two strategic diversification businesses, iCare.com Limited and Towngas Telecommunications Company Limited.

Mr. LEE is currently an Independent Non-executive Director of MTR Corporation Limited and SUNeVision Holdings Ltd. (both companies are listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited). He also serves in many governing and advisory committees in academic, professional and community arena. He is the Board Chairman of Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited, the Chairman of Public Libraries Advisory Committee, an Ex-officio Member of Committee on Innovation, Technology and Reindustrialisation of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and a Council Member of each of Hong Kong Management Association, Hong Kong Quality Assurance Agency and Hong Kong Professionals and Senior Executives Association. Mr. LEE is a Distinguished Fellow of Hong Kong Computer Society, a Chartered IT Professional of The British Computer Society, a Fellow

of The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers and a Chartered Engineer of United Kingdom Engineering Council. Mr. LEE obtained his Bachelor's degree in 1982 and a Master's degree in Operations Research & Industrial Engineering in 1983, both from Cornell University in the United States.

In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company, Mr. LEE will hold office until the next following general meeting of the Company and shall then be eligible for re-election by the shareholders for a term of approximately three years. Mr. LEE has not entered into any service contract with the Company and yet formal letter of appointment of independent non-executive director is in place to set out the key terms and conditions in relation to his appointment. As an Independent Non-executive Director, Mr. LEE will be entitled to receive a director's fee of HK\$400,000 per annum and the additional fees for memberships of board committees. Accordingly, Mr. LEE will be entitled to receive additional HK\$200,000 per annum as a member of each of Audit Committee, Risk Committee, Strategy and Budget Committee as well as Sustainability Committee. Such fees will be paid in proportion to the actual length of services served by him. The level of the aforesaid fees were determined with reference to the duties and responsibilities with the Company and prevailing market conditions, and were approved by the shareholders at previous general meetings of the Company.

Mr. LEE does not have any relationships with any directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Save as disclosed above, he has not held any directorships in other listed public companies during the last three years and does not hold any other positions with the Company or any of its subsidiaries. As at the date of this announcement, Mr. LEE does not have any interests in the shares of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Mr. LEE has met the independence guideline as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"). Further, there is no other information to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules and there is no other matter which needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders in connection with the appointment of Mr. LEE.

The Board wishes to take this opportunity to warmly welcome Mr. LEE to the Board.

By Order of the Board LUO Nan Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 15 September 2022

As at the date of this announcement and following the above-mentioned appointment of director, the Board comprises Mr. LIU Liange* (Chairman), Mr. LIU Jin* (Vice Chairman), Mr. SUN Yu (Vice Chairman and Chief Executive), Mr. LIN Jingzhen*, Madam CHENG Eva**, Dr. CHOI Koon Shum**, Madam Fung Yuen Mei Anita**, Mr. KOH Beng Seng**, Mr. LAW Yee Kwan Quinn**, Mr. LEE Sunny Wai Kwong** and Mr. TUNG Savio Wai-Hok**.

- * Non-executive Directors
- ** Independent Non-executive Directors