Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

Stock Codes: 2388 (HKD counter) and 82388 (RMB counter)

APPOINTMENT OF PROFESSOR MA SI HANG FREDERICK AS INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MEMBER OF BOARD COMMITTEES

The Board is pleased to announce that Professor MA Si Hang Frederick (馬時亨教授) has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director and a member of each of Nomination and Remuneration Committee, Strategy and Budget Committee as well as Sustainability Committee of the Company and the Bank with effect from 20 October 2023.

Following regulatory approval, the Board of Directors (the "Board") of BOC Hong Kong (Holdings) Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Professor MA Si Hang Frederick (馬時亨教授) has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director and a member of each of Nomination and Remuneration Committee, Strategy and Budget Committee as well as Sustainability Committee of the Company and its principal operating subsidiary, Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Bank") with effect from 20 October 2023.

Professor MA Si Hang Frederick, GBS, JP, aged 71. He is currently chairman and independent non-executive director of FWD Group Holdings Limited, an independent non-executive director of COSCO Shipping Holdings Co., Ltd. (listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Hong Kong Stock Exchange")), an independent non-executive director of HH&L Acquisition Co. (listed on New York Stock Exchange) and a non-executive director of Unicorn II Holdings Limited (a company privatised and delisted from New York Stock Exchange in January 2022), a member of the Chief Executive's Council of Advisers, a member of the International Advisory Council of Investcorp and a member of the International Advisory Council of China Investment Corporation. Professor MA held directorships in several listed companies in the past, including independent non-executive director of Guangshen Railway Company Limited (listed on Shanghai Stock Exchange and Hong Kong Stock Exchange), independent non-executive director of the Agricultural Bank of China (listed on Hong Kong Kong

Stock Exchange), chairman and non-executive director of MTR Corporation Limited (listed on Hong Kong Stock Exchange) and an independent non-executive director of China Resources Land Limited (listed on Hong Kong Stock Exchange). Professor MA previously served as the managing director of UK branch of RBC Dominion Securities Inc., the deputy chairman and managing director of Kumagai Gumi Co. Ltd, the managing director and Asia-Pacific Area Director of Global Private Bank of Chase Manhattan Bank, the Asia-Pacific Chief Executive of JP Morgan Private Bank, the Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of PCCW Limited, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Professor MA graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree from the University of Hong Kong majoring in economics and history.

In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company, Professor MA will hold office until the next following general meeting of the Company and shall then be eligible for reelection by the shareholders for a term of approximately three years. Professor MA has not entered into any service contract with the Company and yet formal letter of appointment of independent non-executive director is in place to set out the key terms and conditions in relation to his appointment. As an Independent Non-executive Director, Professor MA will be entitled to receive a director's fee of HK\$400,000 per annum and the additional fees for memberships of board committees. Accordingly, Professor MA will be entitled to receive additional HK\$150,000 per annum as a member of each of Nomination and Remuneration Committee, Strategy and Budget Committee as well as Sustainability Committee. Such fees will be paid in proportion to the actual length of services served by him. The level of the aforesaid fees was determined with reference to the duties and responsibilities with the Company and prevailing market conditions, and were approved by the shareholders at previous general meetings of the Company.

Professor MA does not have any relationships with any directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Save as disclosed above, he has not held any directorships in other listed public companies during the last three years and does not hold any other positions with the Company or any of its subsidiaries. As at the date of this announcement, Professor MA does not have any interests in the shares of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Professor MA has met the independence guideline as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**"). Further, there is no other information to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules and there is no other matter which needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders in connection with the appointment of Professor MA.

The Board wishes to take this opportunity to warmly welcome Professor MA to the Board.

By Order of the Board LUO Nan Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 20 October 2023

As at the date of this announcement and following the above-mentioned appointment of director, the Board comprises Mr GE Haijiao* (Chairman), Mr LIU Jin* (Vice Chairman), Mr SUN Yu (Vice Chairman and Chief Executive), Mr LIN Jingzhen*, Madam CHENG Eva**, Dr CHOI Koon Shum**, Madam FUNG Yuen Mei Anita**, Mr LAW Yee Kwan Quinn**, Mr LEE Sunny Wai Kwong**, Mr LIP Sai Wo** and Professor MA Si Hang Frederick**.

- * Non-executive Directors
- ** Independent Non-executive Directors