



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (the "Company", Stock Code: 2388)

ANNOUNCEMENT APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of the Company is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. T.C. Chan (陳子政) as a Deputy Chief Executive of the Group, with effect from 2 January 2008.

The Board is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. T.C. Chan (陳子政) as a Deputy Chief Executive of the Group, with effect from 2 January 2008. Mr. Chan will provide overall leadership for the financial markets business line covering Treasury, Global Markets, Cash Management, Custody, Investment and Insurance, and other capital market related business lines.

Before leaving Citigroup in May 2007, Mr. Chan was its Country Officer for Hong Kong as well as Head of Corporate and Investment Banking business for Greater China. In his 27 years with Citigroup, he had held senior positions in treasury, operations, product management, finance, sales & trading and country business management. Mr. Chan is actively involved in community and public services. He is the Chairman of the HKSAR Advisory Committee on Human Resources Development in the Financial Services Sector. He also chairs the Management Board of the Travel Industry Compensation Fund under the SAR Government. He sits on the Board and Executive Committee of the Hong Kong Community Chest and is the Co-Chairman of its Campaign Committee. He serves on the Council and Executive Committee of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. He was appointed as a Justice of the Peace in June 2002 and was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star in July 2007. Mr. Chan obtained his MBA degree from the University of Hawaii in 1979 and his CPA in the same year.

As Deputy Chief Executive of the Group, Mr. Chan will report to the Chief Executive.

The Board wishes to thank the Search Committee, which was formed by the Board in March 2007 to conduct a global search through an open and competitive process for the best candidate to fill this position. The Search Committee was chaired by Dr. Fung Victor Kwok King, independent non-executive director, and comprised of Mr. Sun Changji, Vice-chairman, Mr. He Guangbei, Vice-chairman and Chief Executive and Messrs. Koh Beng Seng, Shan Weijian, Tung Chee Chen and Tung Savio Wai-Hok and Mdm. Yang Linda Tsao, independent non-executive directors. The Board also welcomes Mr. Chan to the Group.

By Order of the Board Jason C.W. Yeung Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 30 October 2007

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Mr. XIAO Gang* (Chairman), Mr. SUN Changji* (Vice-chairman), Mr. HE Guangbei (Vice-chairman and Chief Executive), Mr. LI Zaohang*, Mr. ZHOU Zaiqun*, Mdm. ZHANG Yanling*, Mr. LEE Raymond Wing Hung, Mr. GAO Yingxin, Dr. FUNG Victor Kwok King**, Mr. KOH Beng Seng**, Mr. SHAN Weijian**, Mr. TUNG Chee Chen**, Mr. TUNG Savio Wai-Hok** and Mdm. YANG Linda Tsao**.

^{*} Non-executive Directors

^{**} Independent Non-executive Directors