(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (the "Company", Stock Code: 2388)

## ANNOUNCEMENT APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of the Company is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Wong See Hong (王仕雄) as a Deputy Chief Executive of the Group, with effect from 1 July 2008.

The Board is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Wong See Hong (王仕雄) as a Deputy Chief Executive of the Group, with effect from 1 July 2008. Mr. Wong will provide overall leadership for the financial market business lines covering Investment, Global Markets, Cash Management, Custody, Investment and Insurance products, and other capital market related business lines.

Prior to joining the Group, Mr. Wong was Corporate Executive Vice President and Country Executive of ABN AMRO Bank ("ABN"), responsible for ABN's operations in South East Asia. He joined ABN in 1995 and has held various senior positions within ABN including Regional Head of Financial Markets, Country Executive in Singapore, and Managing Director of the Hong Kong Branch. Mr. Wong has spent the last 25 years in the banking sector and has extensive knowledge and experience in treasury and financial products. He currently serves as Alternate Chairman of the Singapore Foreign Exchange Markets Committee of Monetary Authority of Singapore and Vice Chairman of the Financial Industry Competency Standards Committee of Institute of Banking & Finance in Singapore. Mr. Wong graduated from the University of Singapore with a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration and was awarded a Master's Degree in Science in Investment Management by the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

As Deputy Chief Executive of the Group, Mr. Wong will report to the Chief Executive.

The Board wishes to thank the Search Committee, which was re-convened by the Board in March 2008 to conduct an open and global recruitment to search for a suitably qualified candidate to fill the position of Deputy Chief Executive in charge of the financial markets business line. The Search Committee was chaired by Dr. Fung Victor Kwok King, independent non-executive director, and comprised of Mr. Sun Changji, Vice-chairman, Mr. He Guangbei, Vice-chairman and Chief Executive and Messrs. Koh Beng Seng, Shan Weijian, Tung Chee Chen and Tung Savio Wai-Hok, and Mdm. Yang Linda Tsao, independent non-executive directors. The Board also welcomes Mr. Wong to the Group.

By Order of the Board Jason C.W. Yeung Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 5 June 2008

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Mr. XIAO Gang\* (Chairman), Mr. SUN Changji\* (Vice-chairman), Mr. HE Guangbei (Vice-chairman and Chief Executive), Mr. LI Zaohang\*, Mr. ZHOU Zaiqun\*, Mdm. ZHANG Yanling\*, Mr. LEE Raymond Wing Hung, Mr. GAO Yingxin, Dr. FUNG Victor Kwok King\*\*, Mr. KOH Beng Seng\*\*, Mr. SHAN Weijian\*\*, Mr. TUNG Chee Chen\*\*, Mr. TUNG Savio Wai-Hok\*\* and Mdm. YANG Linda Tsao\*\*.

- \* Non-executive Directors
- \*\* Independent Non-executive Directors