

## ANNOUNCEMENT

## **Retirement of Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer**

The Board of the Company announces the retirement of Mr. Lee Raymond Wing Hung (李永 鴻) as an Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer of the Company and the Bank with effect from 1 June 2009.

The Board of Directors of the Company (the "Board") announces that Mr. Lee Raymond Wing Hung (李永鴻) will retire and will relinquish his positions as an Executive Director and the Chief Financial Officer of the Company and its principal operating subsidiary, Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Bank") and all his other positions within the Group with effect from 1 June 2009.

The Board wishes to thank Mr. Lee for his valuable contributions to the Group during his tenure of office and wishes him a happy retirement.

A Search Committee chaired by Dr. Fung Victor Kwok King, independent non-executive director, has been convened to conduct an open and global recruitment to search for a suitably qualified candidate to fill the position of the Chief Financial Officer of the Company and the Bank.

Further announcement on the progress of the above matter will be made in due course.

By Order of the Board Jason C.W. Yeung Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 6 February 2009

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Mr. XIAO Gang\* (Chairman), Mr. SUN Changji\* (Vice-chairman), Mr. HE Guangbei (Vice-chairman and Chief Executive), Mr. LI Zaohang\*, Mr. ZHOU Zaiqun\*, Mdm. ZHANG Yanling\*, Mr. LEE Raymond Wing Hung, Mr. GAO Yingxin, Dr. FUNG Victor Kwok King\*\*, Mr. KOH Beng Seng\*\*, Mr. SHAN Weijian\*\*, Mr. TUNG Chee Chen\*\*, Mr. TUNG Savio Wai-Hok\*\* and Mdm. YANG Linda Tsao\*\*.

\* Non-executive Directors

\*\* Independent Non-executive Directors